Intro Topic: Reflection

Prior to UOSM2008 all my modules had been assessed through an exam at the end of the semester so, when I saw UOSM2008 was assessed entirely through blog posts I felt that I was digitally competent enough to find it less challenging than my other modules. Although I had never written a blog before, I thought how hard can it be? But, the entire process of writing my first ever blog “Digital Residents vs Digital Visitors”, from setting up my own site to publishing my blog has completely changed my original perspective.

Initially, having read Prensky’s theory and being brought up surrounded by digital technologies I believed I was a digital native. I felt I spend a substantial amount of time online whether, on social media, Netflix, YouTube etc so being digital native made sense. But, after reading White and Cornu’s theory, which I found to be more feasible than Prensky’s theory, I naively classed myself as a digital resident.

While writing the blog, I particularly found the aspect of making my own online material such as images and videos challenging. Thus, led to me question my original stance where I classed myself as a digital resident on White and Cornu’s spectrum. Furthermore, Sinead’s comment made me reevaluate and realize while I may show characteristics that would class me as a digital resident with most of my digital activities, I also show characteristics of a digital visitor when it comes to making my own online material or collaborating with others on shared projects. Consequently, I believe I lie much closer to a digital visitor than I had initially thought, on White and Cornu’s spectrum.

 

My comment on Jeremy’s post here.

My comment on Stefan’s post here.

 

1 comments

Leave a comment